Nine to Be Inducted into New OSUIT Alumni Hall of Fame

Nine to Be Inducted into New OSUIT Alumni Hall of Fame

Sara Plummer
Nine to Be Inducted into New OSUIT Alumni Hall of Fame

For the first time in its history, OSU Institute of Technology is recognizing several of its alumni and inducting them into the new OSUIT Hall of Fame.

In this inaugural year, four individuals will be honored as Distinguished Alumni, those who are established in their professions and whose career accomplishments have been outstanding, and five people will be recognized as Rising Stars, those alumni who have demonstrated significant or outstanding accomplishments within their first ten years of graduation.

Among the Rising Stars is Congressman Markwayne Mullin, who graduated from OSUIT in 2010 and then came back in 2013 to deliver the commencement address.

“I enjoyed the opportunity to share with students what it means to work toward your maximum potential,” Mullin said. “My degree from OSUIT not only expanded my knowledge of my field of study, but it prepared me further for the different roles in my life— business owner, rancher and most recently, public service.”

The other Rising Stars include Nyckey W. Heath, Jason Staggs, LaQuayne N. Wright, and Nathan Yoder.

Carla (Jackson) Hammer, her husband, John Hammer, Virgil Sharp and Aaron Ware are this year’s Distinguished Alumni award winners.

After leaving the graphic design field after more than 30 years, John Hammer picked up a paintbrush and a new career as a fine artist. In just a few years, he has made a name for himself with his pop impressionistic take on some of Oklahoma’s famous landmarks and citizens.

“Anybody going into OSUIT’s Visual Communications program and coming out of that program in the last 35 years is an artist in my opinion,” Hammer said.

These accomplished and talented individuals in this first Hall of Fame induction class will be recognized during the annual Alumni Reception on Friday, April 11 at 6:30 p.m., in the State Room on the OSUIT campus in Okmulgee. This event serves as a kick-off to Super Saturday, an annual community celebration on April 12.

Learn more about this year’s class of Rising Stars and Distinguished Alumni.

Distinguished Alumni

Carla (Jackson) Hammer, class of 1986, Associate in Applied Science in Commercial Art. Curator of Paper at Clampitt Paper.

John Hammer, class of 1985, Associate in Applied Science in Commercial Art. Former graphic designer and current fine artist.

Virgil Sharp, class of 1975, Associate in Applied Science in Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Technologies. Commercial Services Manager at Air Conditioning Innovation Solutions in Dallas.

Chef Aaron Ware, class of 2000, Associate in Applied Science from the School of Culinary Arts. Instructor at OSUIT’s School of Culinary Art.

Rising Stars

Nyckey W. Heath, class of 2009, Bachelor of Technology in Civil Engineering and Associate in Applied Science in Drafting/Design. Project Engineer at Tower Inspection Inc.

Markwayne Mullin, class of 2010, Associate in Applied Science in Plumbing. US Representative for Oklahoma’s 2nd Congressional District and owner of Mullin Inc.

Jason Staggs, class of 2012, Bachelor of Technology in Information Assurance and Forensics. Graduate student at the University of Tulsa and was recently accepted in TU’s doctoral program.

LaQuayne N. Wright, class of 2006, Associate in Applied Science in Natural Gas Compression. Artificial Life Corrosion Representative at Chevron.

Nathan Yoder, class of 2011, Associate in Applied Science in Graphic Design. Senior Artist at non-profit company Sevenly.