Regents Approve Division Name Changes, New School of Energy Technologies

Regents Approve Division Name Changes, New School of Energy Technologies

Sara Plummer

The Oklahoma A&M Board of Regents recently approved the establishment of a new School of Energy Technologies at OSU Institute of Technology, as well as name changes of all academic units from “division” to “school.”

“Changing the names from divisions to schools gives the recognition to each of our academic areas for the high quality education they all provide. It elevates the branding for each division and the university,” said Dr. Greg Mosier, vice president of academic affairs. “The term ‘schools’ will also be more clear to educational institutions, business partners and other constituents we continue to grow partnerships with.” The name change becomes effective Jan. 1, 2015.

The School of Energy Technologies becomes an official part of OSUIT on July 1, 2015.

Mosier said the university has offered outstanding programs that support the oil and gas industry for many years, as well as developed relationships with business and industry leaders in the energy sector.

“For many years now, our existing partners in the oil and gas business have requested we expand our offerings to support the growth in this industry,” he said.

Oklahoma is in the heart of America’s oil and gas-producing region, Mosier said, with 75 percent of the nation’s oil and gas rigs within a 500-mile radius of the state. Oklahoma also ranks fifth in crude oil production and is the fifth largest shale gas producing state in the U.S.

“With these factors, and OSUIT’s highly recognized programs in the energy sector, it only makes sense that we create this new School of Energy Technologies,” he said. “Having a centralized school where the majority of these types of programs are housed will enhance the visibility of these programs both to prospective students and potential energy-related business partners.”

After Jan. 1, all academic divisions will have new designations:

  • School of Arts & Sciences
  • School of Automotive Technologies
  • School of Construction Technologies
  • School of Culinary Arts
  • School of Engineering Technologies 
  • School of Diesel & Heavy Equipment Technology
  • School of Information Technologies
  • School of Nursing & Health Sciences
  • School of Visual Communications Technologies
  • School of Watchmaking

After July 1, a new academic unit will be added:

  • School of Energy Technologies